Candidates line up for council

DERWENT Valley, Central Highlands and Brighton residents are spoilt for choice with seven candidates vying for two mayoral roles and a further 40 standing for councillor positions. Nominations closed on Monday and for the first time in Tasmanian history voting at next month’s postal poll will be compulsory.

If you are currently on the state electoral roll, you are automatically on the local government roll for the municipal area (council) in which your enrolled address is located. “By voting you can help influence what sort of place your community will be,’’ a Tasmanian Electoral Office spokesperson said.

Central Highlands Mayor Lou Triffitt has been elected unopposed due to no one standing against her. The Derwent Valley mayoral position will be contested by incumbent Michelle Dracoulis, Phillip Bingley and Peter Binny.

A further 18 candidates will campaign to fill eight positions on the Derwent Valley Council, they include: Phillip Bigg; Phillip Bingley; Peter Binny; Luke Browning; Deb Carnes; Heather Chaplin; Jessica Cosgrove; Justin Derksen; Michelle Dracoulis; James Graham; Matt Hill; Sara Lowe; Brett Maryniak; Eve Nelson; Wayne Shoebridge; Liz Virtue; Brody Wiggins and Natasha Wood.

In Brighton, 11 candidates will contest, with four campaigning to be mayor, Leigh Gray, the incumbent, and John McMaster, Tennile Murtagh and Phil Owen. The 11 candidates vying to fill the nine positions are: Jack Cavangh; Barbara Curran; Aaron De La Torre; Peter Geard; Leigh Gray; Greg Irons; John McMaster; Tennile Murtagh; Phil Owen; Michael Whelan and Kellyanne Williams.

In the Central Highlands, 11 candidates will contest nine positions: Jim Allwright; Anthony Archer; Tony Bailey; Scott Bowden; Robert Cassidy; John Hall; Julie Honner; David Meacheam; Yvonne Miller; Lou Triffitt; and Rob Wilkinson.

All 29 Tasmanian councils are facing election with more than 500 individual candidates nominated for the 263 councillor positions available. When mayoral and deputy mayoral positions are included, the Tasmanian Electoral Commission has received about 740 nominations.

Ballot material will be delivered to voters by post commencing Monday October 3, 2022 and the polls will close at 2 pm on Tuesday October 25. Each council has between seven and 12 councillors (including a mayor and deputy) who will be elected for a four-year term of office. Postal ballot packs will be delivered to electors in the week commencing 3 October.